Andrew McCallum Leadership Scholarship

The Andrew McCallum Leadership Scholarship is a $5,000 grant available to people who have graduated from ACWA’s Community Leadership Program within the last two years, to put towards their future leadership development. Generously funded by the Office of the Children’s Guardian, this scholarship is designed to future-proof the community sector through developing its emerging leaders, and to give recipients a helping hand with pursuing their career aspirations.

Only one scholarship will be offered each year and eligible applicants must be able to demonstrate commitment to fulfilling the aims of the grant as set out below:

  • To future proof the community sector through the development of its emerging leaders.
  • To create opportunity for further professional development for the alumni of ACWA’s Community Leadership Program.
  • To facilitate career progression/aspirations for the recipient.

Eligibility Criteria

  • You successfully completed ACWA’s Community Leadership Program, graduating in the past two years.
  • You are usually employed in the community, human services or a related sector.
  • You have the support of your organisation for your Leadership Development Plan as outlined in this application.
  • You are able to undertake your proposed Leadership Development Plan within 12 months of acceptance.
  • If successful, you must be available to be a guest speaker at the following year’s ACWA Community Leadership Program Graduation.

About Andrew McCallum AO

About Office of Children’s Guardian

In 2011 Andrew was awarded a Member of the Order of Australia in recognition of his service to the community in a range of leadership roles across the social justice sector.

He has a strong belief in developing the sector’s greatest asset, its people. Andrew was thus a strong advocate for ACWA’s Community Leadership program from its inception and it is in his honour that the Scholarship is named.

Janet Schorer is the Children’s Guardian. Previously, Janet managed the NSW transition to the National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) across government and was Executive Director in the NSW Department of Premier and Cabinet, managing Families NSW. In 2018, Janet was recognised by the IPAA in their Top 50 Public Sector Women list. She is committed to supporting the development of emerging leaders within the community sector.

Nominations close: 29 September 2021

If you would like more information about the Andrew McCallum Leadership Scholarship, please submit your enquiry below:

To find out more about the Andrew McCallum Leadership Scholarship, contact Lesley Furneaux-Cook on 02 8974 9824 or email

Other Leadership Options at CCWT

Community Leadership Program

BSB51918 Diploma of Leadership and Management